Living Life in Edmonton

It was another beautiful fall weekend. And having had a quiz on Friday afternoon, I was able to enjoy some time off. Yoga, running, research (not my favourite thing but it’s a thing that I do), cooking, hanging out with friends, movie, dinner at the new hipster restaurant, and down time. I couldn’t have imagined a better weekend before winter and the heaviest portion of repro block hit.

IMG_1876

I am discovering that Edmonton is a fairly nice place, as the photo shows (yes there’s a filter on the photo but it was quite pretty when I stopped during our run along the river valley. It’s also become more and more of a home to me. During my undergrad, my mentality was: SCHOOL SCHOOL SCHOOL SCHOOL SCHOOL. And the only time I took a break was when I went home to my parents.

I am learning to take the time to enjoy the place that I’m living in. For example, we visited Meat, the new trendy restaurant just off of Whyte Ave, went for a wonderful 15km run along the river valley, passing by the zoo and some wonderfully cute dogs in the off-leash areas, and we are going to 2 concerts this coming week.

And there was no better way to end this wonderful weekend than to do a bunch of cooking. Thanks to Ally’s farm zucchini and spaghetti squash, and Meagan’s leftover wine, I had a nice meal starting with zucchini brownie and white wine lemon chicken.

FullSizeRender

ZUCCHINI BROWNIES

I won’t take credit for making up a recipe for this. This recipe came from one of my favourite food blogs: Two Peas And Their Pod

IMG_4025

WHITE WINE LEMON CHICKEN

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 medium sized onion- diced
  • lemon zest of 1 lemon
  • 4 chicken thighs
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Heat saucepan over medium heat, melt butter
  2. Cook onion and lemon zest until onion start to brown
  3. Place chicken thigh skin side down, cook until brown then flip over and cook until brown
  4. Add white wine and lemon juice
  5. Cover and simmer for 10-15 min
  6. Salt and pepper to taste

Leave a comment